A Little Insight Into Sprites

Greetings! I am Stephanie Dziezyk, Mythwing Interactive’s head artist, here to share some of the slightly more visually interesting aspects of the game’s development. I have been creating the conceptual art and rough sprite work, and would like to share what I’ve been up to these past three weekends.

Thus far, I have created the concepts for the main player characters – the dragons, with some exploration in their marking variation, and distinguishing features between male and female.

DragonMarkingsFrills

Now that the concept has been finalized, I have been working on the meat of the project – the animated sprite work! I do enjoy 2D animation a good deal – I’ve dabbled in it since I was in elementary school, and never fully kicked the habit. I use Photoshop to draw each frame as a separate layer, utilizing its pencil tools to access the ability to draw pixel by pixel. I then use the ‘Animation’ window (or ‘Timeline’ window in CS6) to put the layers into sequence.

Blog_WorkplaceExample

After I make sure the sequence is timed correctly and everything is smooth, I save it in ‘Save for Web’, as a GIF, to share with my cohorts for their approval.

WalkCycleLeft

To use the sprite in Unity, I will be creating a sprite sheet out of the layers with a transparent background with all of the other walking directions I need to animate – up, down, right, upper right, upper left, lower right, and lower left. I have completed left, right, up, and down so far, so I’ve got a lot of work cut out for me!

Thank you all so much for reading, and if you would like to look at more of my work, you can follow the links below:

http://leccathufurvicael.deviantart.com/

http://www.threetailart.carbonmade.com

Have a pleasant day!

Stephanie Dziezyk, Art Lead and Animator

Leave a comment